The concept

Between Wisdom, Knowledge and Culture, symbols, metaphysics and the search for Truth built our life, it is why I chose SETH as brand identity!

In the Bible, Seth is the 3rd son of Adam and Eve, means "established," "placed," restores the continuity of Abel, of humanity until the end of time and allows by his lineage the Messi to come, Jesus Christ, the Incarnation of the Verb, of God on earth.

In ancient Egypt, Seth is the archetype of anger, combat, destructive and constructive forces, of the stranger, of loneliness and exile that brings him to a free being status.

Leather, because it is an ancestral material, loaded with symbols and spirituality, a know-how of humanity, leather as clothing, an experience, a melee, to be unique, to reinvent itself.

A "leather" garment as an art of living with consciousness and will that mixes and inscribes the strength of the elements and faith in its future.

For an art of living, a different fashion, responsible, discreet luxury, a leather garment that lives only worn, with SETH "Art Leather Living Concept", I want to propose a brand, a state of mind, a style that try to express ourself, your history with creations, unique works, exclusivity.

To order, I adapt and customize the model to your measurements, your inspirations and your choice for material and colour.

Who is SETH "Art Leather Living Concept"?

With a long career and apprenticeship, Jean Marc Benoist, designer, stylist is now an independent contractor with Jean Marc Benoist design concept.

I created "SETH Art leather Living Concept" in Italy, in Rome in 2007.

I am passionate about artistic creation, the material and the work of leather, physical and metaphysical journeys, with the will to transmist my experience and worldview ...

From a family of craftsmen and military relatives, all starts for me, in Germany in June 1964 in Freiburg in Breisgau in Baden Wurttemberg. A childhood in Colmar and later in Aix in Provence where I study in the Plastic Arts and Drama. I discovered French Polynesia for the military service and Paris in 1983 where I settled and learned my job as a fashion designer.

A crucial meeting, decisive with the stylist Ruven Feder who introduced me to Fashion and Ready to Wear. Then in 1984, it will be at Pierre Cardin, Pierre Balmain and for 12 years with the fashion designer Claude Montana who will allow me to acquire a know-how, a vision of fashion, a sense of detail, of cutting and affirming my passion and knowledge for the material: leather.

1992, I return to live in Polynesia, then move a few months in California, the cherish town of San Francisco but return to Paris!

2003, I moved to Italy, to Padova, Bologna and fixed in Roma.

I created a first brand and personal collection of women's and men's leather clothing "Mercuro" with a Tuscan company. Communication and financing difficulties make me create, alone, my own brand in 2007 with experimental and unique pieces:

SETH Art Leather Living Concept.

I return to France, to Paris and work as an independent fashion designer for women's and men's collections, between designer, vintage spirit and biker, for leather brands: Sylvie Schimmel, Ventcouvert, Mc Douglas, Pellissimo, Daytona73... and work with various workshops in Turkey. At the same time, I give lectures, workshops presenting trends in China, Haining and Shang hai.

Today I share my activity between my company, my creations, board and teaching drawing, style, accessories and leather collections process for fashion schools.

What I do

I propose personal creations, a concept of leather clothing, unique pieces, only one size fits for this collection I’ve named Experi-M-ental.

It is an experimental research, inspired by an urban world, traditional, sophisticated, nonchalant, for a woman, a man who loves horseback riding, vintage cars and fine art but also motorcycling, distant spaces, solitude, meditation, between rock metal and Baroque music...

Next step is to update these pieces in new materials and colours, and on demand, make a piece in a few weeks, to your measurements, depending on your inspiration, material and colour of your choice. I take care to organize different fittings, focus on every detail to offer you the luxury of a personalized experience and garment.

Aware of the economic, ecological, overproduction and overconsumption, fair trade, I have set up a simplified structure, very flexible, personalized, without stock with the minimum of intermediaries, working with suppliers and workshops responsible craftsmen.

The skins selected for this first "Experi-M-ental" collection and the first unique pieces are Syrian lamb skins, half-breeds, Italian tanners CARISMA, Pink and gold metallic toscanos shearling skins, merinos, Veneto equine skins, English RYAN Leather Ltd and French FICHET tanneries.

Concerned about provenance and quality, these are innovative leathers in their production and tanning controlled, with the least chrome possible, to the standards and respect for the environment as well as for zips and metal parts accessories.

I work and offer today leathers lamb skin from Bodin-Joyeux, stretch leather lamb skin from RIAL1957...

The embroidery for each piece is inspired by the Middle Age, flamboyant Gothic or associated with an ethnic and biker spirit. They were made by an Italian embroiderer company from Tuscany, with gold and silver threads and metallics on leather and linings.

I work closely with Parisian leather craftsmen who bring me all their resources and know-how to allow me to develop my creations as art pieces, to ensure flexibility, follow-up and retouching in order to propose the realization of each piece customized, personalized and handmade.

I stay closely in touch with you and inform you step by step of the realization of your order.

Each piece can be delivered to your home during the day by courier in Paris or in a few days in France or abroad by post.

With SETH “Art Leather Living Concept”, my will is to develop new creations, accessories, bags, belts and shoes as well as design and interior objects... in order to propose an art of living, a concept around leather with links and references with other designers...

Collection

IT'S EXPERI.M.ENTAL
MEN'S COLLECTION

Inspired by the time passes by, inexorably, which makes its mark, prints on the skin, on the leather, I seek to translate this expression, this reflection of our soul, of every moment lived as an unique history.

I write the time, movement in the aerodynamic or architectural shapes and cuts of each piece.

A hybrid style, urban and sporty, with cutouts and accessory from luggage and shoe world, two lines, two visions, identities opposed models in different and complementary lines, shoulder constructions: round, soft and embossing or straight and structured.

A classic, urban universe, for lovers of vintage cars or horseback riding transcribed with in Syrian lamb leathers, very supple, with soft touch, glovey or shiny effect, dipped, or a merino shearling skin with an aged effect.

A soft and bright colour palette with beige and glossy brown for casual clothing, combined with technical, innovative, metallic silver linings.

Stronger, thicker, sportier leather qualities for a biker, adventurer, bully, rebellious, with a equine skin or double-faced kangaroo for which black is de rigueur.

Lines and details that mix, rivets and metal rings from the world of horseback riding, leather goods and where a spirit of city and biker, knight of modern times with flamboyant ethnic/Gothic embroidery, a mixt of history and culture, is part of with an iconic M, experi-M-ental ... Master, Memory, Monarchy, Monastery, Mystery, Miracle, Mercy, Mercury...

IT'S EXPERI.M.ENTAL
WOMEN'S COLLECTION

Inspired by the time passes by, inexorably, which makes its mark, prints its on the skin, on the leather, I seek to translate this expression, this reflection of our soul, of every moment lived, as an unique story.

I write the time, the movement in the aerodynamic or architectural shapes and cuts of each piece for a casual, classic, urban, sophisticated, baroque garment.

A hybrid, urban, and baroque universe, two visions, identities contrasted models with different and complementary lines and shoulder constructions: round, soft and emboling for jackets and coat or straight and structured for the jacket "Perfecto".

Syrian lamb leathers, very supple, with a soft touch, glovy or shiny effect, dipped, beige or black, a mixed nubuck colour Terra Cotta, powder metallic pink for a discreet and vintage fantasy or a pink shearling skin with metallic gold spray for a baroque shifted effect associated with technical linings, innovative, metallic bronze.

A stronger, thicker, sportier leather quality for a biker spirit, riding, adventurous, burly, rebellious, with equine leather, where black is de rigueur.

Styles and details that mix rivets and metal rings from the world of horseback riding, leather goods and where a spirit of city and biker, modern warrior of the times with flamboyant ethnic/Gothic embroidery, mix of history and culture with an emblematic M, experi-M-ental ... Madam, Madonna, Miss, Memory, Monarchy, Monastery, Mystery, Medal, Miracle, Mercy, Mercury...

SYMBOLIC

BIBLICAL SETH

Adam still had a conjugal relationship with Eve. She gave birth to a son and called him Seth, for, she said, "God gave me another son to replace Abel whom Cain killed.
Genesis 4.25
Adam, a hundred and thirty years old, begat a son in his likeness, according to his image, and gave him the name of Seth (Sheth)
Genesis 5.3
Our first parents were comforted in their affliction by the birth of a son, whose name, Seth, means "established" or "placed"; of this progeny, humanity continued its lineage until the end of time, in particular, for the arrival of Jesus Christ, the Messiah. Seth walked in the footsteps of his martyr brother, Abel; he was animated by great faith, and true righteousness towards God and the Savior Jesus Christ, becoming the living witness of the divine grace and influence of the Holy Spirit. Seth also had a son, and he called him Enoch. It was then that the call began to be made in the name of the Lord.
Genesis 4.26
Seth (Sheth) lived, after Enoch's birth, eight hundred and seven years and he fathered sons and daughters.
Genesis 5.7
Every day of Seth (Sheth) was nine hundred and twelve years old, and then he died.
Genesis 5.8

SETH, ANCIENT EGYPT

At the beginning of the dynastic period of Egypt (circa 3150 - c. 2613 BC), Seth was originally an important and friendly god of Upper Egypt whose name was invoked for love spells and inscribed on amulets that served as love charms. He was also the deity who saved the sun god Ra from the serpent Apophis, an evil creature who tried to stop the sun god's journey into the night sky around dawn.

An Egyptian God of rain and storm, desert and oasis, Seth became the god of harmful influences because of the role he played in the legend of Osiris. Originally, Seth was a god of heaven, desert, storm, disorder and war. He is the cunning character typical of tales and legends.

It embodies the necessary and creative violence and disorder. The vicissitudes of his cult reflect both the ambiguity of Egyptian sentiments towards him and the various political changes that Egypt has experienced. During the Second Dynasty (2775 approx.-2650 approach to BC), King Peribsen was the first pharaoh to associate with the name of Seth.

Seth is one of the first five gods created by the union of Geb (earth) and Nut (heaven) after the creation of the world. Its name is generally translated as "instigator of confusion" and "destructive" and it was associated with disorder, foreign lands and peoples, and red color.

The religion of ancient Egypt has often been regarded as dualistic. Indeed, in the solar religion of Egypt, Ra, the sun, the principle of life and truth that can be represented as the creator of the Universe, has as perpetual opponent Apophis, the gigantic snake of the shadow. In the myth of Osiris, Seth, the evil god, kills Osiris and then opposes Isis and Horus.

https://pharaonique.com/blogs/mythologie-egyptienne/seth-dieu-de-la-guerre

Le concept

Dans la Bible, Seth est le 3 ème fils d’Adam et Eve signifie « établi », « placé », il restaure la continuité d’Abel, de l’humanité jusqu’à la fin des temps et permet par sa lignée, l’arrivée du Messie Jésus Christ, l’Incarnation du Verbe, de Dieu sur Terre.

Dans l’Egypte ancienne il est l’archétype de la colère, du combat, des forces destructrices et constructives, de l’étranger, de la solitude et de l’exil qui le porte à la dimension d’un être libre.

Entre Sagesse, Connaissance et Culture, notre vie se construit de symboles, de métaphysique et de la recherche de la Vérité, c’est pour ces raisons que j’ai nommé SETH comme identité de marque !

Le cuir, parce que c’est une matière ancestrale, chargée de symboles et de spiritualité, un savoir-faire de l’humanité, le cuir comme vêtement, comme une expérience, un corps-à-corps, pour être unique, pour se réinventer.

Un « cuir » comme art de vivre avec conscience et volonté qui mêle et inscrit la force des éléments et la foi en son devenir.

Pour un art de vivre, une mode différente, responsable, un luxe discret, un vêtement de cuir qui ne vit que porté. Avec SETH « Art Leather Living Concept », je veux proposer une marque, un état d’esprit et un style qui tentent d’exprimer notre Histoire, votre histoire avec des créations, des œuvres uniques et exclusives.

A la commande, j’adapte et personnalise le modèle à vos mesures avec votre choix de la matière et de la couleur ou crée selon vos inspirations une nouvelle pièce unique.

Qui est SETH “Art Leather Living Concept” ?

Avec un long parcours et apprentissage, Jean Marc Benoist, dessinateur, styliste est aujourd’hui entrepreneur avec Jean Marc Benoist Design Concept.

Je crée SETH « Art leather Living Concept » en Italie, à Rome en 2007.

Je suis passionné par la création artistique, la matière et le travail du cuir, les voyages physiques et métaphysique, la transmission de mon expérience et vision du monde…

D’une famille d’artisans et de parents militaire, tout commence pour moi, en Allemagne en juin 1964 à Fribourg en Brisgau dans le Baden Wurtemberg. Je vie ensuite à Colmar puis j’étudie à Aix en Provence les Arts Plastiques et l’Art dramatique, découvre la Polynésie Française durant mon service militaire et Paris dès 1983 où je m’installe et apprends mon métier de styliste.

Une rencontre primordiale, décisive avec le styliste Ruven Feder qui m’initie à la Mode et au Prêt-à-Porter. Ensuite, en 1984, ce sera Pierre Cardin, Pierre Balmain puis 12 ans avec le créateur Claude Montana qui me permettront d’acquérir un savoir-faire, une vision de la Mode, le sens du détail, de la coupe et d’affirmer ma passion et ma connaissance de cette matière noble : le cuir.

1992, je retourne vivre en Polynésie, puis quelques mois en Californie, reviens à Paris et en 2003 je m’installe en Italie à Bologne puis à Rome.

Je créé une première marque et collection personnelle de vêtements de cuir Femme et Homme « Mercuro » en collaboration avec une entreprise Toscane. Des difficultés de communication et de financement me décide à créer, seul, ma propre marque en 2007 avec des pièces expérimentales et uniques :

SETH Art Leather Living Concept.

Je rentre en France, à Paris et travaille comme styliste indépendant pour des collections commerciales Femme et Homme. Entre mon métier de créateur avec un esprit vintage et motard, pour les marques de cuir : Sylvie Schimmel, Ventcouvert, Mc Douglas, Pellissimo, Daytona 73… et mes déplacements dans les différents ateliers en Turquie, je donne à la même époque des conférences, workshops présentants les tendances en Chine, Haining et Shanghai.

Je partage aujourd’hui mon activité entre mon entreprise, mes créations et le conseil, l’enseignement du Dessin, le processus de collection, de l’accessoire et du cuir pour des écoles de Mode.

Ce que je fais

Je vous propose des créations, un concept de vêtements en cuir, des pièces uniques, une taille unique pour cette collection Expéri-M-ental.

C’est une recherche inspirée d’un monde urbain, traditionnel, sophistiqué, nonchalant, pour une femme, pour un homme qui aiment l’équitation, les voitures anciennes et les pièces rares mais aussi la moto, les espaces lointains, la solitude, la méditation, entre musique métal, rock et Baroque…

Mon objectif est de réactualiser dans de nouvelles matières et couleurs ces pièces et réaliser à la demande une pièce en quelques semaines, à vos mesures, selon votre inspiration, matière et couleur de votre choix. Je prends soin d’organiser différents essayages, de m’occuper de chaque détail pour vous offrir le luxe de l’expérience d’une pièce unique et personnalisée.

Conscient des enjeux économiques et écologiques, de la surproduction et de la surconsommation ainsi que du commerce équitable, j’ai mis en place une structure simplifiée, très souple, personnalisé, sans stock et avec le minimum d’intermédiaires, ne travaillant qu’avec des fournisseurs et des ateliers, artisans responsables.

Les peaux sélectionnées pour cette première collection « Expéri-M-ental » et les premières pièces uniques sont des peaux d’agneaux de Syrie, des métis, du tanneur Italien CARISMA, des peaux lainées Toscanos poudrées métallisées or, des mérinos, des peaux d’équidé du Veneto, de l’Anglais RYAN Leather Ltd et du Français FICHET.

Soucieux de la provenance et de la qualité, ce sont des cuirs innovants, contrôlés dans leur processus d’élaboration et de tannage, avec le minimum de chrome possible, respectueux des normes et de l’environnement ainsi que pour les zips et les autres pièces métalliques.

Je travaille et propose aujourd’hui des cuirs d’agneau de chez Bodin-Joyeux, d’agneau stretch de RIAL…

Les broderies pour chaque pièce sont inspirées du monde médiéval, du gothique flamboyant ou associées à un esprit ethnique, motard. Elles ont été réalisées par un brodeur italien de Toscane, avec des fils de couleurs et métalliques or et argent sur le cuir et les doublures.

Je travaille étroitement avec des patroniers, des artisans, façonniers de cuir Parisiens qui m’apportent toutes leurs ressources et savoir-faire qui me permettent de travailler mes créations comme des objets d’art, d’assurer une flexibilité, le suivi et les retouches afin de proposer la réalisation de chaque pièce sur mesure, personnalisée et faite à la main.

Je reste en contact avec vous et vous informe étape par étape du processus de conception à la réalisation de votre pièce.

Chaque pièce peut être livrée chez vous dans la journée par coursier à Paris ou en quelques jours en France ou à l’international.

Je souhaite avec « SETH Art Leather Living Concept » développer régulièrement de nouvelles créations, proposer des accessoires, sacs, ceintures et chaussures ainsi que des objets Design et d’intérieur…afin de proposer un art de vivre, un concept autour du cuir avec des liens et des références avec d’autres créateurs…

Collection

EXPERI.M.ENTAL
COLLECTION HOMME

Inspiré par le Temps qui passe inexorablement, qui pose son empreinte, imprime sa marque sur la peau, le cuir, je cherche à traduire cette expression, ce reflet de notre âme, de chaque instant vécu, une histoire unique.

Je cherche à inscrire le temps, le mouvement dans les formes et les découpes aérodynamiques ou architecturales de chaque pièce.

Un style hybride, urbain, citadin et sportif, aux découpes et accessoires de la bagagerie et de la chaussure, deux lignes, deux visions, identités qui s’opposent avec des modèles aux lignes et constructions d’épaules différentes et complémentaires : rondes, douces et emboitantes ou droites et structurées.

Un univers classique, urbain, pour amateur de voitures de collection ou d’équitation transcrit avec des cuirs d’agneau de Syrie, très souple, au toucher moelleux, effet ganterie ou brillant, plongé, ou une peau lainée mérinos avec un effet vieilli.

Une palette de couleurs douces et lumineuses avec le beige et le marron glacé pour des vêtements décontractés, associés à des doublures techniques, innovantes, métallisées argent.

Des qualités de cuir plus résistant, plus épais, plus sportif pour un esprit motard, aventurier, baroudeur, rebelle, avec un cuir d’équidé nappa, lavé ou de kangourou double-face où le noir est de rigueur.

Des lignes et des détails qui se mélangent, rivets et anneaux de métal provenant du monde de l’équitation, de la maroquinerie et où s’inscrit un esprit citadin et motard, chevalier des temps modernes avec des broderies Ethniques/ Gothiques flamboyant, mélange d’histoire et de culture. Un M emblématique, experi-M-ental ... Master, Memory, Monarchy, Monastery, Mystery, Miracle, Mercy, Mercury…

EXPERI.M.ENTAL
COLLECTION FEMME

Un univers hybride, urbain, et baroque, deux visions, identités qui s’opposent avec des modèles aux lignes et constructions d’épaules différentes et complémentaires : rondes, douces et emboitantes pour les vestes et le manteau ou droites et structurées pour le blouson « Perfecto ».

Des cuirs d’agneau de Syrie, très souple, au toucher moelleux, effet ganterie ou brillant, plongé, beige ou noir, un métis nubuck couleur Terra Cotta, poudré métallisé rose pour une fantaisie discrète et vintage ou une peau lainée rose avec des reflets métallisés or pour un effet Baroque décalé associé à des doublures techniques, innovantes, métallisées bronze.

Une qualité de cuir plus résistant, plus épais, plus sportif pour un esprit motard, équitation, aventurière, baroudeuse, non-conformiste, avec un cuir d’équidé nappa, où le noir est de rigueur.

Des styles et des détails qui se mélangent avec des rivets et des anneaux de métal provenant du monde de l’équitation, de la maroquinerie et où s’inscrit un esprit citadin et motard, guerrière des temps moderne avec des broderies Ethniques/Gothique flamboyant, mélange d’Histoire et de culture avec un M emblématique, experi-M-ental ...Madam, Madonna, Miss, Memory, Monarchy, Monastery, Mystery, Medal, Miracle, Mercy, Mercury…

Symbolique

SETH BIBLIQUE

Adam eut encore des relations conjugales avec sa femme. Elle mit au monde un fils et l'appela Seth, car, dit-elle, « Dieu m'a donné un autre fils pour remplacer Abel que Caïn a tué ».
Genèse 4.25
Adam, âgé de cent trente ans, engendra un fils à sa ressemblance, selon son image, et il lui donna le nom de Seth (Sheth).
Genèse 5.3
Nos premiers parents ont été réconfortés dans leur affliction par la naissance d'un fils, dont le nom, Seth, signifie « établi » ou « placé » ; de cette descendance, l'humanité a continué sa lignée jusqu'à la fin des temps, en particulier, avec le Messie.
Seth a marché dans les pas de son frère martyr, Abel ; il a été animé d'une grande foi, et d'une vraie droiture vis-à-vis de Dieu et du Sauveur Jésus Christ, en devenant par là le témoin vivant de la grâce divine et de l'influence du Saint Esprit.
Seth eut lui aussi un fils, et il l'appela Enosh. C'est alors que l'on commença à faire appel au nom de l’Eternel.
Genèse 4.26
Seth (Sheth) vécut, après la naissance d'Enosch, huit cent sept ans; et il engendra des fils et des filles.
Genèse 5.7
Tous les jours de Seth (Sheth) furent de neuf cent douze ans; puis il mourut.
Genèse 5.8

SETH, Egypte antique

Au début de la période dynastique d'Égypte (vers 3150 - vers 2613 avant J.-C.), Seth était à l'origine un dieu important et amical de Haute-Égypte dont le nom était invoqué pour des sorts d'amour et inscrit sur des amulettes qui servaient de charmes d'amour. Il fut également la divinité qui sauva le dieu soleil Rê du serpent Apophis, une créature maléfique qui tenta d'arrêter le voyage du dieu soleil dans le ciel nocturne vers l'aube.

Dieu égyptien de la pluie et de l'orage, du désert et des oasis, Seth deviendra le dieu des influences néfastes en raison du rôle qu'il joua dans la légende d'Osiris.

À l'origine, Seth est un dieu du ciel, du désert, de la tempête, du désordre et de la guerre. C'est dans l'ensemble le personnage rusé typique des contes et légendes. Il incarne la violence et le désordre nécessaires et créateurs. Les vicissitudes de son culte reflètent à la fois l'ambiguïté des sentiments des Égyptiens à son égard et les divers changements politiques que l'Égypte a connus.

Pendant la IIe dynastie (2775 env.-2650 env. av. J.-C.), le roi Peribsen est le premier pharaon qui s'associe au nom de Seth.

Seth est l'un des cinq premiers dieux créés par l'union de Geb (terre) et Nut (ciel) après la création du monde. Son nom est généralement traduit par "instigateur de la confusion" et "destructeur" et il était associé au désordre, aux terres et aux peuples étrangers, et à la couleur rouge.

On a souvent tenu pour dualiste la religion de l'Égypte ancienne. En effet, dans la religion solaire de l'Égypte, Rê, le soleil, principe de vie et de vérité pouvant être représenté comme le créateur de l’Univers, a pour adversaire perpétuel Apophis, le gigantesque serpent de l'ombre. Dans le mythe d'Osiris, Seth, dieu malfaisant, tue Osiris et s'oppose ensuite à Isis et à Horus.

https://pharaonique.com/blogs/mythologie-egyptienne/seth-dieu-de-la-guerre